Anne Bancroft

Anne Bancroft

actress, director, writer

Anne Bancroft was born on Sep 17, 1931 in USA. Anne Bancroft's big-screen debut came with Lux Video Theatre - Season 1 directed by Richard Goode in 1950. Anne Bancroft is known for Waking Ned Devine directed by Kirk Jones, Ian Bannen stars as Jackie O'Shea and David Kelly as Michael O'Sullivan. Anne Bancroft has got 15 awards and 39 nominations so far. The most recent award Anne Bancroft achieved is Online Film & Television Association. The upcoming new movie Anne Bancroft plays is Delgo which will be released on Dec 12, 2008.

Anne Bancroft was born on September 17, 1931 in The Bronx, NY, the middle daughter of Michael Italiano (1905-2001), a dress pattern maker, and Mildred DiNapoli (1907-2010), a telephone operator. She made her cinema debut in Don't Bother to Knock (1952) in 1952, and over the next five years appeared in a lot of undistinguished movies such as Gorilla at Large (1954), Demetrius and the Gladiators (1954), New York Confidential (1955), Nightfall (1956) and The Girl in Black Stockings (1957). By 1957 she grew dissatisfied with the scripts she was getting, left the film business and spent the next five years doing plays on Broadway. She returned to screens in 1962 with her portrayal of Annie Sullivan in The Miracle Worker (1962), for which she won an Oscar. Bancroft went on to give acclaimed performances in The Pumpkin Eater (1964), The Slender Thread (1965), Young Winston (1972), The Prisoner of Second Avenue (1975), The Elephant Man (1980), To Be or Not to Be (1983), 84 Charing Cross Road (1987) and other movies, but her most famous role would be as Mrs. Robinson in The Graduate (1967). Her status as the "older woman" in the film is iconic, although in real life she was only eight years older than Katharine Ross and just six years older than Dustin Hoffman. Bancroft would later express her frustration over the fact that the film overshadowed her other work. Selective for much of her intermittent career, she appeared onscreen more frequently in the '90s and early '00s, playing a range of characters in such films as Love Potion No. 9 (1992), Point of No Return (1993), Home for the Holidays (1995), G.I. Jane (1997), Great Expectations (1998), Keeping the Faith (2000) and Up at the Villa (2000). She also started to make some TV films, including Deep in My Heart (1999) for which she won an Emmy. Sadly, on June 6, 2005, Bancroft passed away at the age of 73 from uterine cancer. Her death surprised many, as she had not disclosed her illness to the public. Among her survivors was her husband of 41 years, Mel Brooks, and their son Max Brooks, who was born in 1972. Her final film, the animated feature Delgo (2008), was released posthumously in 2008 and dedicated to her memory.

  • Birthday

    Sep 17, 1931
  • Place of Birth

    The Bronx, New York City, New York, USA

Known For


15 wins & 39 nominations

Online Film & Television Association
Winner - OFTA Film Hall of Fame
Primetime Emmy Awards
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or a Movie
Winner - Primetime Emmy
Outstanding Variety or Musical Program - Variety and Popular Music
Winner - Primetime Emmy
Annie, the Women in the Life of a Man (1970)
Show more

Movies & TV Shows

TV Shows