Tonino Guerra

Tonino Guerra

writer, actor, second unit director or assistant director

Tonino Guerra was born on Mar 16, 1920 in Italy. Tonino Guerra's big-screen debut came with Men and Wolves directed by Giuseppe De Santis in 1957. Tonino Guerra is known for Everybody's Fine directed by Kirk Jones, Robert De Niro stars as Frank Goode and Drew Barrymore as Rosie. Tonino Guerra has got 19 awards and 11 nominations so far. The most recent award Tonino Guerra achieved is Writers Guild of America, USA. The upcoming new movie Tonino Guerra plays is Everybody's Fine which will be released on Dec 04, 2009.

Legendary Italian screenwriter was born Antonio Guerra on the 16th of March 1920 in Sant'Arcangelo, Italy, south of Ravenna. He wrote several short stories, poetry and novels and in 1956 his first screenplay "Man and Wolves" (co-written by Elio Petri) was directed by Giuseppe De Santis. Three years later he wrote the masterpiece, "L'Avventura", which began his long collaboration with one of the greatest directors of all time Michelangelo Antonioni. Tonino Guerra earned Oscar nominations 3 times: for the Casanova (1965), for Blow-Up (1966) by Antonioni and for Amarcord (1973) directed by Federico Fellini. He has worked with many other masters such as Francesco Rosi on _Lucky Luciano (1974)_ and and Andrei Tarkovsky on Nostalghia (1983). Tonino Guerra is a poet and one of busiest and the most important screenwriters of cinema who won Cannes Film Festival's Best Screenplay award for the "Voyage to Cythera" by Theo Angelopoulos and received an honorary award of the Venice Film Festival. Tonino Guerra is a great fan of two persecuted film geniuses Andrei Tarkovsky and Sergei Parajanov.

  • Birthday

    Mar 16, 1920
  • Place of Birth

    Santarcangelo di Romagna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

Known For


19 wins & 11 nominations

Writers Guild of America, USA
Winner - Jean Renoir Award for Screenwriting Achievement
David di Donatello Awards
Winner - Special David
Best Screenplay (Migliore Sceneggiatura)
Winner - David
Best Screenplay (Migliore Sceneggiatura)
Winner - David
Best Screenplay (Migliore Sceneggiatura)
Winner - David
Show more

Movies & TV Shows