writer, script and continuity department, composer

Sjón was born on Aug 27, 1962 in Iceland. Sjón's big-screen debut came with Dancer in the Dark directed by Lars von Trier in 2000. Sjón is known for The Northman directed by Robert Eggers, Alexander Skarsgård stars as Amleth and Nicole Kidman as Queen Gudrún. Sjón has got 4 awards and 7 nominations so far. The most recent award Sjón achieved is Edda Awards, Iceland. The upcoming new movie Sjón plays is The Northman which will be released on Apr 22, 2022.

Sjón is an internationally acclaimed Icelandic author, working in various literary forms and in all genres of film. His most recent work for the screen is the screenplay for the Cannes winning film Lamb, starring Noomi Rapace, that went on to become a top ten grossing film in the US and Iceland's entry for the Best International Film Oscar. Next up is the Viking revenge drama The Northman, co-written with its legendary director Robert Eggers, premiering in the spring of 2022. Currently he is working on a screen adaptation of Hamlet with Ali Abbasi, director of Border.Sjón's novels and poems have been translated into more than 40 languages. Among his books are The Blue Fox, From the Mouth of the Whale, Moonstone and CoDex 1962, for which he has won international awards and nominations, including the Nordic Council's Literature Prize, The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, and the Icelandic Literary Prize. In 2017 Sjón became the third writer to be chosen to contribute to Future Library - following Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell - a public artwork based in Norway spanning 100 years. At the 2001 Oscars ceremony, Sjón was nominated for an Academy Award for his lyrics in Lars von Trier's Dancer in the Dark. Sjón lives and works in Reykjavík.

  • Birthday

    Aug 27, 1962
  • Place of Birth

    Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Also known

    Sigurjón Birgir Sigurðsson, Sjón Sigurðsson

Known For


4 wins & 7 nominations

Edda Awards, Iceland
Best Screenplay (Handrit ársins)
Winner - Edda Award
Nordic Council
Dýrið (2021)
Winner - Nordic Council's Film Prize
Show more