Per Fly

Per Fly

director, writer, actor

Per Fly was born on Jan 14, 1960 in Denmark. Per Fly's big-screen debut came with Bænken directed by Per Fly in 2000. Per Fly is known for Forestillinger directed by Per Fly, Mads Wille stars as Jakob and Sonja Richter as Tanja. Per Fly has got 21 awards and 13 nominations so far. The most recent award Per Fly achieved is Danish Film Awards (Robert). The upcoming new movie Per Fly plays is Backstabbing for Beginners which will be released on Apr 27, 2018.

Per Fly was accepted to the Danish Film School in 1989. He completed his education in 1993 with the graduation film Room 17. In the following years Per Fly directed, among other films, the short films Sofaholdet (1994), Calling Katherine (1994) and The Little Knight (1997). In 1998, he directed the short film Liftarflickan and three episodes of the television show TAXI for Danish Radio.In 2001 Per Fly won a Bodil and a Robert award for Best Director, and both the Audience Award and the Best Director award from Nordische Film Days 2000 in Lübeck. The awards were given for Fly's debut feature film, The Bench (2000), which was the first in Per Fly's trilogy about the lower, middle and upper class in Denmark.The sequel, Inheritance (2003) about the Danish upper class, was the most attended film in Danish cinemas in 2003 and won a total of seven Robert awards in 2004, including Best Film, Best Director and The Audience Award. Inheritance also received several major international awards, including the award for best screenplay at the Flaiano International Film Festival in Italy and San Sebastian International Film Festival in Spain.Per Fly won the award for Best Director once more at the Robert Awards, with the last film of the trilogy, Manslaughter (2005), and a Bodil for Best Film and the Nordic Council Film Prize.In 2005, Per Fly received the Crown Prince and Crown Princess' Culture Prize for the trilogy. In this context the Crown Prince stated that: "The trilogy is some of the most powerful films in Danish film history".In 2007 Per Fly made the TV series Performances in six episodes for the TV network DR. Sonja Richter won the award for Best Actress at the 47th Monte Carlo TV Festival.In January 2010 Per Fly released his latest film The Woman who Dreamed of a Man.

  • Birthday

    Jan 14, 1960
  • Place of Birth

  • Also known


Known For


21 wins & 13 nominations

Danish Film Awards (Robert)
Best TV Series (Årets tv-serie)
Winner - Robert
Best Director (Årets instruktør)
Winner - Robert
Best Film (Årets danske spillefilm)
Winner - Robert
Best Screenplay, Original (Årets originalmanuskript)
Winner - Robert
Mannheim-Heidelberg International Filmfestival
International Competition Serial Dramas
Winner - New Creators Award Mannheim-Heidelberg
Follow the Money (2004)
Show more

Movies & TV Shows

TV Shows