Orson Welles

Orson Welles

actor, director, writer

Orson Welles was born on May 06, 1915 in USA. Orson Welles's big-screen debut came with Too Much Johnson directed by Orson Welles in 1938, strarring Keystone Kop. Orson Welles is known for The Transformers: The Movie directed by Nelson Shin, Norman Alden stars as Kranix and Jack Angel as Astrotrain. Orson Welles has got 36 awards and 31 nominations so far. The most recent award Orson Welles achieved is Online Film & Television Association. The upcoming new movie Orson Welles plays is The Deep which will be released on Nov 22, 2015.

His father, Richard Head Welles, was a well-to-do inventor, his mother, Beatrice (Ives) Welles, a beautiful concert pianist; Orson Welles was gifted in many arts (magic, piano, painting) as a child. When his mother died in 1924 (when he was nine) he traveled the world with his father. He was orphaned at 15 after his father's death in 1930 and became the ward of Dr. Maurice Bernstein of Chicago. In 1931, he graduated from the Todd School in Woodstock, Illinois. He turned down college offers for a sketching tour of Ireland. He tried unsuccessfully to enter the London and Broadway stages, traveling some more in Morocco and Spain, where he fought in the bullring.Recommendations by Thornton Wilder and Alexander Woollcott got him into Katharine Cornell's road company, with which he made his New York debut as Tybalt in 1934. The same year, he married, directed his first short, and appeared on radio for the first time. He began working with John Houseman and formed the Mercury Theatre with him in 1937. In 1938, they produced "The Mercury Theatre on the Air", famous for its broadcast version of "The War of the Worlds" (intended as a Halloween prank). His first film to be seen by the public was Citizen Kane (1941), a commercial failure losing RKO $150,000, but regarded by many as the best film ever made. Many of his subsequent films were commercial failures and he exiled himself to Europe in 1948.In 1956, he directed La soif du mal (1958); it failed in the United States but won a prize at the 1958 Brussels World's Fair. In 1975, in spite of all his box-office failures, he received the American Film Institute's Lifetime Achievement Award, and in 1984, the Directors Guild of America awarded him its highest honor, the D.W. Griffith Award. His reputation as a filmmaker steadily climbed thereafter.

  • Birthday

    May 06, 1915
  • Place of Birth

    Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Known For


36 wins & 31 nominations

Online Film & Television Association
Winner - OFTA Film Hall of Fame
Winner - OFTA Film Hall of Fame
Winner - OFTA Film Hall of Fame
International Online Cinema Awards (INOCA)
Best Film Editing
Winner - INOCA
The Other Side of the Wind (2018)
Show more

Movies & TV Shows

TV Shows